Lemon Meringue Cake

Mothers day weekend was a busy one for me with three cakes on the go. For my mums cake, I did a caramel cake with vanilla Italian Meringue Buttercream ruffles. I also made a friends cake for her flat warming, which let me practice with teh airbrush again. The last cake was a lemon meringue cake, which according to the facebook statistics was the most popular of the three.

Last year I made lemon meringue cupcakes for a friends birthday, and I thought the idea would transfer very well to a larger cake.

I started with a lemon sponge, coated in lemon syrup, then  filled and covered with lemon curd.

Lemon curd

I decided to do my meringue in rose swirls, using the 1M tip from Wilton. I started off on the sides first.

Meringue on sides

Then for the top of the cake, I started with one in the middle, and filled round the edge as well.

Top meringues

I filled in the gaps just with some spikes, and the careful use of a toothpick made sure all the little spaces were filled in.

Filled meringue

Then it was a case of putting the cake in the oven. In an ideal world I would have had a blow torch, but the board survived going in for a brief spell and the highest temperature.

Finished cake

The finished cake did look lovely but also tasted delicious, lemon and meringue is an unbeatable combination. I made the meringue following these instructions, it worked perfetly for the cake and the spare meringues I made too. Given that it lasted a few days too, cake is the gift that keeps on giving!

 

Leave a Reply

