Christmas Baking Inspiration

One of the best things about Christmas, like most holidays, is the food. Savoury wise, I have a hankering for roast parsnips. Sweet wise, I want to make everything! Time always escapes me though, so if I manage just one or two things I will be very happy.

I tried marshmallows the other week, and whether it was the unintentional use of vegetarian gelatine, or not beating them for long enough, I was left with green goo rather than festive green marshmallows.

If you want successful marshmallows, without having to do it yourself, the Edinburgh based Marshmallow Lady comes highly recommended, and I would love to try some myself! I’m not convinced that eggnog marshmallows are the way to go, but toffee apple or millionaire shortbread, yes please!

If you want to do something creative yet easy, this marshmallow tree from Planning With Kids (instructions here) looks like a good idea – easy and quick enough that it might even make it into my baking schedule.

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without Delia Smith –I suppose the same could be said for Americans of Martha Stewart, just looking at these candy cane marshmallows is making me jealous! If you want to give home-made marshmallows a go, the recipe is here.

Actually, I might need to go stock up on a lot of marshmallows – melted snowman cookies (or cupcakes) are always hugely popular at this time of year. With misshapen half – melted marshmallows, this tutorial from Truly Custom Cakery looks good.

Or, you could just stick with these traditional snowmen cookies, from the Pink Momma. If you don’t have a snow man cutter, cut two circles and then cut them so they fit together – they will bake together and be pretty solid!

The best festive bake I have seen this year though? These Hot Chocolate Truffles from Your Cup of Cake, that I doubt will make it onto my baking list this time round. I think any chocolate ganche recipe would do the job though, and then you can decorate to your hearts content.

As for Christmas cakes, if you need any last-minute inspiration, the Edinburgh branch of the British Sugarcraft Guild came up with plenty of designs to get you thinking at our November meeting, which you can see here. Hopefully everyone has a lovely Chrsitmas, and keep an eye on my facebook page for my Christmas cake pictures.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Christmas 2012 « A Kimbo Cake

Leave a Reply

