The Lion Cake

This cake was made back in September 2011, for a friends birthday. I had bought a tutorial from Extra Icing a few weeks before, which I had not used yet, and did not have any particularly wonderful ideas for the cake so decided this was the ideal time to try it out.

I decided to go for chocolate sponge, with chocolate chips – you can not beat real bits of chocolate in your cake. I also used chocolate ganache under the sugarpaste because it makes an excellent undercoat. I find it pretty easy to work with, and it makes it easier for me to get a nice clean edge too. Plus it is properly rich and indulgent, so perfect for a grown up cake!

And so with the cake basics sorted out, I got on with the lion. It was so straight forward, although it did take a bit of time to get things just right. Lorraine McKay’s tutorials are always well explained, with each tiny step broken down, so I would say you are always pretty likely to have a finished product that looks pretty good.

One of the challenges is that I did not quite have all the stuff she used in the tutorial. But sometimes it works out really well going off track. I do not have a clay extruder, so the mane was a bit of a challenge. But I have used this trick before – pushing the sugarpaste through a sieve. It was working pretty well anyway, but then as I was finishing up I found it was working better to kind of push the paste through by pushing the paste across the way rather than straight through.

By the time the lion was done, and the cake was covered there really was not any time to actually decorate the cake. However, I think keeping it simple made the lion the centre of attention. I might have had more time if I hadn’t wanted to do cupcakes as well – I only managed two zebras and two lions, but it was still pretty cute, and made for a nice display.

And since it was a birthday cake, coloured flame candles are a fun finishing touch.  Another bonus is that the lion will keep pretty much forever, this one now lives in a nice little box.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. K. Allison
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 20:16:12

    Aww, that’s dead cute. I like his little tongue.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

